The Adams Family

We’re kooky, but hopefully not too creepy…

How We’re Doing March 23, 2010

Filed under: Elyse,Emily,Family,Motherhood — hjhadams @ 4:10 pm

So, I started this post on February 9th…and now it’s March 22nd.  Yay me! 

One of my New Year’s Resolutions was going to be to post on this blog more often.  Hmmm…looks like that is going well, hey?  I am hoping that I can start to get back into the routine to post more often. 

The girls are now 19 months and 5 months old.  We had their “well-baby” check-ups in early February and they’re both doing great.  Elyse was 24 lbs 5 oz (60th percentile) and 33” (90th percentile).  Emily was 14 lbs 11.5 oz (75th percentile) and 25.5” (90th percentile).

Life with two kids under two is crazy, to say the least.  To be honest with you, some days things aren’t so great.  Emily has been a bit challenging…she’s had some issues but thankfully we’re figuring her out and she seems a little happier every day.

Being a stay-at-home mom can be isolating and depressing at times, especially in the middle of winter.  I know that I am fortunate to not HAVE to go to work outside the home, but some days I wish I did.  I don’t want to sound ungrateful, because I am not.  I am truly blessed with healthy children, a roof over my head, food on the table, and a husband who is amazingly supportive in every way.  But there are days I dread getting out of bed because I know that the day is going to be (most likely) just like the day before, and the day before that, and the day before that. 

But now spring is here!  And I feel more hopeful, and I feel like a weight is lifting off my shoulders.  The sun is out, and we can play in the yard and go for walks…and watching Elyse delight in the outdoors is amazing.  She loves every second that we spend outside.  Every rock, every leaf, every crack on the ground…they all must be inspected.  She screeches with joy when she runs through the grass and loves to kick around the ball.  It is so fun and makes my heart smile.

It is also wonderful to watch the girls together.  Emily is mesmorized by her big sister…she watches her and smiles and sometimes even laughs; Elyse loves to go over to see her sister and give her kisses and hugs.  It makes the last couple months of struggle seem like they were all worth it…

So my “mid-year” (not really mid-year yet, I know, but close enough) resolution is going to be to update here more.  I hope you enjoy!

 

2 Responses to “How We’re Doing”

  1. Kay Elam Says:

    Hi Heather,
    I don’t know where I’ve been, but I JUST discovered your blog…and I love it! I’m in the process of establishing a website and plan to blog as well, so I may be calling you for some tips. We look forward to seeing you in June.
    Kay

  2. Hey Heather.
    I completely understand how you feel. Sometimes when I’m at home, I just wish I wasn’t and then I feel awful for even thinking that.
    But springtime is really a relief- Evan is really relishing the outdoors too.

    Hope all is well.
    -Jaimie


Leave a Reply

